Your cart
Close Alternative Icon
Less Ready To Go
Less Ready To Go
Less Ready To Go

Michael Nau

Less Ready To Go



Less Ready To Go was recorded at Hi-Dez in Joshua Tree. It happened quickly. For each song, we'd do a take, then switch instruments and do a live overdub on top. It was a fresh way to work. Going in, I was sure I had at least one song to do - we started there, and a couple days later it felt like a record was finished. I got scooped up by whatever happened those couple days - felt good to be moving. Any time I try to contrast one record, or process, from the previous one, it becomes more clear that it's all pretty much the same thing. I think I've been 'working on an album' every day for the last 12 years, yet I always feel under prepared. I'm lucky to get to make music with people whose energy can supersede my self-doubt. That's the thread through all this. 

Track Listing:
1. Hoops
2. Boomtappin
3. Poor Condition
4. Fade Shade
5. Grow My Wave
6. 2 Powers
7. Look Into Dance
8. Maybe Just Don't
9. Be Smiling When You Can

Michael Nau: vocals, guitar, bass, piano, synth, lap steel, vibraphone
Scott McMicken: guitar, bass, drums, percussion, organ, mirage, piano, wurlitzer
Seth Kauffman: guitar, bass, drums, percussion, various sounds
Benny Yurco: guitar, bass
Zach Miller: organ, wurlitzer
Whitney McGraw: vocals
Andrew Dost: horns

Recorded at Hi-Dez
Produced by Scott McMicken
Engineered, Mixed, and Mastered by Nathan Sabatino
Art by Clinton Jones
Cassette layout & design by Leann Cornelius